The Essential Man

William Hearst offered columnist Arthur Brisbane a six-month vacation on full pay as a reward for his dedicated and successful work. When Brisbane refused, Hearst asked him why. The journalist advanced two reasons: “The first is that if I quit writing for six months it might damage the circulation of your newspapers.” He paused for a moment then: “The second reason is that it might not.”

Published in: on December 10, 2009 at 1:23 PM  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://spad1.wordpress.com/2009/12/10/the-essential-man/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nice! That feeling is common to any creative type, I suspect… so allow me to alleviate it by saying I’m enthusiastically following your blog, Spad. 🙂

    • Great to have you, April! The blog is starting to take shape, but I really have no clue how to do this stuff. Basically, I’m spending a lot of time reinventing the wheel. I don’t know a soul with any blogging experience, so I’m really flying blind and IFR was never my strong suit. 🙂 If you have any recommendations or ideas to improve things don’t hesitate to pass them along.

  2. I had a friend set up a blog for me once, but I really can’t help in the technical details. My main recommendation is: keep going for the long haul. 🙂

    • The blog’s a lot of work at the moment, but that’s because I’m having to learn as I go along. I know the content well enough from long experience, but almost nothing about blogging. I think it will be a lot fun once it’s really rolling–assuming it ever really gets rolling. 🙂


Leave a Reply

