Bitter Under The Dome

Steven King’s latest tome, Under The Dome, contains this strange line by Reverend Piper Libby in Chapter 13:

“I like it because it is bitter, she thought. And because it is my heart.”

But it’s not so strange if you know the source. It’s from this 1895 Stephen Crane poem:

In the desert

In the desert

I saw a creature, naked, bestial,

Who, squatting upon the ground,

Held his heart in his hands,

And ate of it.

I said: “Is it good, friend?”

“It is bitter — bitter,” he answered;

“But I like it

Because it is bitter,

And because it is my heart.”

What I find odd is that it seems like a gratuitous line that doesn’t support the scene.

Published in: on December 12, 2009 at 1:44 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://spad1.wordpress.com/2009/12/12/bitter-under-the-dome/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

